Waiting Room

Use the Waiting tab in the lower right corner of the Appointments Module to track patients who have arrived for their appointment. Patients who list in the waiting room have a Time Arrived, but not a Time Seated entry on the Edit Appointment.

Automated entries for Time Arrived and Time Seated are triggered by Confirmation Status. The default Time Arrived trigger is Arrived. The default Time Seated trigger is In Treatment Room. Change the triggers in Appointments Module Preferences.

How it works

  1. When the patient arrives, open their account in the Appointments module.
  2. On the right, click the confirmation status abbreviation that triggers a Time Arrived entry (e.g. Arrived).

    The patient will list in the waiting room.

  3. When patient is seated, select the status that triggers Time Seated (e.g. In Room). The patient will no longer show in the waiting room.

Additional Appointment Module Preference Options

When using clinics, the patients that show in the waiting room are based on the clinic selected in the main menu. If Headquarters is the clinic, all patients waiting for all clinics will show.

Troubleshooting

If you accidentally select a confirmation status that inserts a Time Seated entry but want the patient to remain in the waiting room, double click the appointment and remove the Time Seated value.