Task Window

The Task window opens when a task is created or task response is received, or double-click an existing task from a task list.

In the Main Toolbar, click the Task dropdown, For user. In the Tasks window, click Add Task.

New: The read status of a task. All tasks start out marked New, are prioritized at the top of the task list, and appear in the New For tab. The task list icon in the Tasks window will turn orange to indicate new/unread tasks. To mark a task as read, uncheck New or right-click from the task list and Mark as Read. The task will be removed from the New For tab and prioritized by date/time and Task Priority in the task list. Read tasks can be marked as New at anytime. Checking New only marks the task new for the user, not all users subscribed to the task list.

Done: Complete and close a task. Check Done to close the task and hide it from the task list. Also right-click from the task list and select Done. To close a task attached to a patient, right-click the task in the Chart Module progress notes and Set Complete. The task will show as complete in the progress notes. Chart module completed task background and text colors can be changed in Definitions: Prog Note Colors.

To view completed tasks, from the Tasks window, click Options, and check Show Finished Tasks. Or double-click a task from a patient's chart and uncheck Done. Editing or sending a completed task to another task list automatically removes the Done status.

Date/Time Created: Auto-populates with the date and time the task is created. For security purposes, this cannot be edited.

Date/Time Task: Typically the same as Date/Time Created. Click Now to enter the current date/time or manually edit to a specific date/time. This field affects the order of the task in the task list.

Date/Time Finished: Auto-populates with the date and time the task was marked done or set complete. Click Now to enter the current/date time (does not mark done).

Reminder: Set the task to pop up or appear new in the task list for a specific date and time. See Task Reminder. By default, tasks are set to NoReminder.

From User: Name of the user that created the task. To change the user, click [...] and select a new user from the list. If changed, the original user will no longer be able to see edits to the task unless the user is subscribed to the task list the task is sent to.

Task List: Auto-populates with the name of the task list the task is currently in or being sent to. To change, click Send To (see below).

Task Priority: Assign a priority to the task. Tasks are sorted by the New status, Task Priority, then date and time. Add or edit priority types in Definitions: Task Priorities.

History: View summary of task changes. Only available if the user has TaskEditSecurity Permissions.

Description: Enter the task description. This text box supports Right Click Text Box options. To change the height of the description box, drag the splitter bar between the Description text box and Notes grid and drag to the desired height.

Auto Note: Insert an Auto Note template to the task description.

Notes: Comments and notes added by users. Double-click into a note to make changes. User must have Task Note Edit security permissions.

Add: Opens the Task Note Edit window to add comments and notes to the task.

Reply: Opens the Task Edit Note window to add a note. Click OK to immediately send the task with the reply back to the inbox of the last user that commented.

Send To: Moves the task to the selected task list. Click to open the Select Task List window. Task lists with the same Object Type as the task will show. Type the task list name in the Search field or select from the available task lists then double-click or click OK to move the task.

Copy: Copies the task number, date/time stamps, patient name and appointment date/time (if attached), task description, notes, and associated users to the clipboard.

Object Type: Attach a task to an appointment or patient. Attached patient related tasks to an appointment or patient to quickly access the patient or jump to the appointment.

Change: Change attached patient or appointment. Only available if the object type is set to Patient or Appointment. Click Change to open the Select Patient window and select a patient to attach (only one patient can be attached). When the object type is set to Appointment, Change opens the Select Patient window and when a patient is selected, the Patient Appointments window opens to select the patient's appointment to attach.

Go To: Exits the Task window and changes the currently selected patient to the patient attached to the task. When the object type is Appointment, the active modules changes to Appointments Module and jumps to the date of the appointment in the calendar.

OK: Exits the Task window and saves changes.

Cancel: Exits the Task window without saving changes.

Delete: Deletes the task and task notes. An audit trail entry will be created but the task cannot be retrieved once deleted.